Guinea Pigs & Vegan (6 Answers You Should Know!)

Share it with Your Friends!

Guinea pigs are herbivores that appear to have a strict vegan diet. But even as vegetarians, their needs are different. Not all vegan foods are healthy for them to eat.

This article serves as a guide to the vegan life of guinea pigs. And more especially, the right foods to include in their diet. 

Keep reading below! 

Can Guinea Pigs Be Vegan?

A Guinea Pigs - A Vegetarian and Herbivore

Yes, guinea pigs can be vegan. Generally, guinea pigs are strict vegetarians by nature. They’re herbivores and eat only plant foods. 

This also means that guinea pigs can’t have meat, dairy products, and other animal-based foods. 

Interestingly, guinea pigs can’t even eat cooked plant foods as some herbivores do. It can harm their stomachs and health in general. 

These creatures only do well with raw plant foods, which also include parts of plants like:

  • Stems
  • Leaves
  • Flowers
  • Sprouts 
  • Roots

So, it’s ok to feed your guinea pigs a vegan diet. However, while doing this, be sure to add variety to their diet. Keep reading below to see how a guinea pig’s diet should be. 

Guinea Pigs Vegan Diet – What You Should Include

Guinea Pigs Vegan Foods

A guinea pig’s diet is vegan and should include hay, pellets, grass, fruits, and veggies. Hay is their main food and should always be available for guinea pigs. 

Their digestive system is weak and needs constant food to function properly. Hence, cavies can eat hay constantly. It’s safe and doesn’t require moderation.

This is unlike most fruits and veggies, which are safe for guinea pigs only in moderate amounts. Regardless of this, some fruits and veggies are toxic for guinea pigs no matter the serving size. 

However, here’s a list of Fruits and veggies guinea pigs can eat as vegetarians:

Fruits That Guinea Pigs Can Eat:

Vegetables That Guinea Pigs Can Eat:

Take Note:

Check for the right serving sizes of each fruit and vegetable listed above. It helps to make sure guinea pigs eat these treats without experiencing any health problems. 

Since animal meat is bad for guinea pigs, can they eat plant-based meat instead. Let’s find out next! 

Can Guinea Pigs Plant-Based Meat?

Plant-Based Meat - Not Healthy for Guinea Pigs to Eat

No, you shouldn’t feed your guinea pigs plant-based meat. The major season is that it’s highly processed and that’s bad for guinea pigs.

They are vegan-friendly meat but not real meat. The ingredients are plant-based and this meat tastes feels and appears like real meat. It’s a good alternative for vegetarian people but not guinea pigs.

Plant-based meat is processed with ingredients that are toxic to guinea pigs. This includes onion, garlic, and oil. 

Guinea pigs do well with raw and fresh plants. Anything cooked can cause serious health problems for them.

What About Vegan Chicken Nuggets?

Vegan Chicken Nuggets - Not Safe for Guinea Pigs to Eat

No! Chicken nuggets aren’t safe for guinea pigs. The main reason is that they are cooked foods. This will cause serious digestive problems for guinea pigs.

In addition, vegan chicken nuggets are alternatives to chicken nuggets for vegetarians. However, they’re not healthy for guinea pigs to eat.

Vegan chicken nuggets have high-fat content, which isn’t healthy for guinea pigs. They can probably have cardiovascular diseases from eating this fatty food.

Furthermore, this vegan food can contain ingredients like salt, garlic, and other spices that are bad for your guinea pig’s health.

Can Guinea Pigs Eat Vegan Chocolate?

Vegan Chocolate - Not a Healthy Vegan Food for Guinea Pigs

No, guinea pigs can’t eat vegan chocolate. The cocoa powder used to make this vegan chocolate contains caffeine and theobromine, which are both toxic for guinea pigs. 

Cocoa butter is also the main ingredient which is more fats itself and unhealthy for guinea pigs too. Some of them have added sugar and guinea pigs’ tummies have problems digesting this.

It will lead to digestive issues like bloating and diarrhea. Hence, this might be chocolate for vegans, but not for guinea pigs.

Can Guinea Pigs Eat Vegan Cheese?

Vegan Cheese - Nots a Healthy Vegan Food for Guinea Pigs

No, guinea pigs can’t eat vegan cheese. Guinea pigs can’t digest vegan cheese because it’s processed and not raw.

In addition, vegan cheese contains ingredients like nuts and seeds, which are fatty. Fats are one of the main things guinea pigs should avoid to remain healthy. 

Some vegan cheese also comes with added spices and flavors. These ingredients aren’t good for guinea pigs either.

Final Thoughts

Guinea pigs live all their lives as vegetarians. Their diet is strictly vegan. This means no kind of animal food comes into their diet.

Guinea pigs will mainly eat hay and as much as they can. But when it comes to fruits and veggies, they need to eat them in small amounts and as treats.

You should also know that guinea pigs can’t eat cooked plant foods. Their stomach can’t digest any kind of cooked or processed food.

This means foods for vegetarians like vegan cheese, vegan chicken nuggets, and vegan chocolate are not safe for guinea pigs to eat. Stick to offering your guinea pigs only raw plant foods.

As vegetarians, guinea pigs don’t eat only meat. There are other foods you shouldn’t add to their diet aside from animal foods. 

Hence, you must check out these 21 foods you shouldn’t feed your guinea pigs.

Share it with Your Friends!